Four Bulldogs Named 2019 Football Captains

Four Bulldogs Named 2019 Football Captains

Franklin, Mass. – A quartet of standout stars have been named captains for the 2019 Dean College Football season it was announced recently by head coach Steve Tirrell.

Senior Gene Baisden, Jr. (Tampa, Fla.), junior Errol Breaux (Marietta, Ga.) and seniors Julian Burris (Kennesaw, Ga.) and Shannon Moxey (Austell, Ga.) will serve in the leadership roles. For Baisden and Moxey it will be their second consecutive season as captains, while Breaux and Burris are in their spots for the first time.

Baisden returns for his final season after a standout junior campaign that saw him start all ten games, record 54 tackles, three interceptions and two sacks, earning second-team all-conference honors.

Breaux proved to be the offense's biggest weapon, racking up 920 receiving yards and 11 touchdowns on his way to second-team all-league honors as well. He had five games with 100 yards receiving or more, including a monster six-catch, 229-yard, two touchdown performance that saw him tie an NCAA record with a 99-yard touchdown grab.

Burris, meanwhile, was an electrifying star that was slowed by injury as the season wore on. When he was on the field, he made explosive plays including a 76-yard touchdown catch and a 92-yard kickoff return for a touchdown in the season-opener at Curry.

Moxey, meanwhile, earned All-New England and first-team all-conference accolades after a season that saw him total 57 tackles and lead the Eastern Collegiate Football Conference (ECFC) in forced fumbles, interceptions (6) and interception return yards.

After a 5-5 season that saw them go 4-1 at home and win their final three games, the Bulldogs are expected to return a host of crucial contributors for the 2019 season, which opens on Friday, September 6 against Nichols College.